Search for content, post, videos

f³ – freiraum für fotografie : BarTur Photo Award


The BarTur Photo Award was founded in 2011 by entrepreneurs Amnon and Armon Bar-Tur in memory of their late wife and mother Ann Lesley Bar-Tur, a British artist.

Endowed with a total of $20,000, the annual award honors photographers and photographic artists from around the world who use photography as a medium to sharpen our view of the world and focus on the burning issues of our time. In the abundance of photographic material we are confronted with today, the BarTur Photo Award aims to discover and support the best contemporary photographic talents and to make their work better known. Special attention is given to the work of women, queer and non-binary photographers, as well as photographers from the Global South, who are particularly invited to apply for the award.

The award seeks work that is unique, compelling, and inspiring. The selection process is supported by a jury of leading industry representatives, including in 2022 Austin Merrill (Everyday Africa), Katharina Mouratidi (Artistic Director f³ – freiraum für fotografie), Fumio Nanjo (Mori Art Museum, Tokyo), Ossaini Raggi González (University of the Arts, Cuba), Karin Rehn-Kaufmann (Leica Galleries International) and Simon Roberts (photographer).

The focus of the BarTur Photo Award is not on the presentation of works that have already been published or shown in an exhibition, so among the winners of the BarTur Photo Award 2022 are true discoveries: fresh, new photography with innovative approaches, equally from young, unknown image authors as well as from renowned photographers.

Ann Lesley BarTur Award – First Prize Winner: VERONIQUE DE VIGUERIE

BarTur Award for Climate Change – Series Winner: GIACOMO D’ORLANDO

BarTur Award for Climate Change – Single Image Winner: CHINMOY BISWAS

BarTur Wainwright Prize for Climate Change: SUPRATIM BHATTACHARJEE

LEICA Fotografie International BarTur Photojournalist of the Year Award: ESPEN RASMUSSEN

LEICA Fotografie International BarTur Photojournalist of the Year Award: PHILIP CHEUNG

BarTur Award for Faces of Humanity – Series Winner: MAROUSSIA MBAYE

BarTur Award for Faces of Humanity – Single Image Winner: KELLY BECKTA

BarTur Award for Unity and Diversity: DANIELE VIT


BarTur Photo Award
February 9 – 19, 2023
f³ – freiraum für fotografie
Waldemarstraße 17
10179 Berlin, Germany

Create an account or log in to read more and see all pictures.

Install WebApp on iPhone
Install WebApp on Android